Our Story

Epic Doom Metal band Well Of Souls was formed by vocalist John Calvin in December of 1997. The band began by covering their mentors Solitude Aeturnus, Candlemass, and Black Sabbath among others but they quickly developed their own style of classic metal mixed with European metal and doom metal. After a number of line-up changes and a decision to become more serious with the project, the band spent the next eight months writing and recording their original five-song demo CD EP released in 2000, the now out-of-print and sought after "Black Reign" Demo which contains different versions of what would appear on the debut full length CD as well as unreleased songs.

As Well Of Souls built their live fanbase they were compared to everything from Fates Warning to Iron Maiden to Blind Guardian to Solitude Aeturnus as they employed a crushing guitar sound with progressive drumming and John's very unique, clean vocal style. In 2003 the band recorded their official debut CD after working out a deal with Texas-based Brainticket Records run by legendary guitarist John Perez of Solitude Aeturnus. The self titled CD was released in January 2004 and Well Of Souls began another onslaught of live shows with international recording artists Savatage, Helloween, Fates Warning, Seven Witches, Omen, Steel Prophet, Helstar, Destinys End, Reverend Bizarre & Solitude Aeturnus among others. For their 2005 East Coast tour the band released the very limited edition "Pilgrimage of Doom EP" which contains 2 live songs and 2 rough demos that would appear on the bands next release.

After the band's 2 years of supporting the debut release live across America, they began writing the follow-up CD to their successful debut. It would be five long years of writing and recording as the lineup changed and longtime members departed. 

After a long hiatus from music, Tim Wayne returned to the band in 2010 and new bassist, Michael "Dr. Froth" Millsap (Six Minute Century/Gathered In Darkness/Helstar/ Axe/Rusty Cooley) joined in 2011.  The good Dr. quickly re-cut the bass tracks and finally the 4th release and 2nd full length CD titled "Sorrow My Name" was released on Brainticket Records on October 9, 2012 to rave reviews. Christopher Lee Kotlarz (drummer of Echo Temple) joined the band shortly thereafter for live shows in 2013 and 2014.

Well Of Souls then began writing their 3rd full length release tentatively titled "The Depths of Depravity". Unfortunately, in early 2015 the band went on hiatus as Dr. Froth joined Rusty Cooley's band and Chris went on to play in several cover bands and focus his time on Echo Temple. Tim Wayne decided to retire from music permanently. 

OJ and John Calvin went through a serious of personal issues, and OJ played guitar in a small local band for a spell. In early 2020 the guys found a new rehearsal space and began playing with song ideas for a long overdue followup album.  They plan to recruit new members or possibly use session musicians to release new music, hopefully in 2021. They also plan to re-issue the original Demo, first CD and tour EP in 2020 with bonus materials.